President of Nigeria, Mohammadu Buhari has ordered the immediate reopening of four of Nigeria’s land borders, over a year after they were all shut. This was contained in a statement by the Presidential spokesman on Wednesday evening.

“President Buhari has directed the immediate opening of four land borders: Seme, Illela, Maigatari, and Mfun,” The statement said.

The Minister of Finance, Budget and National Planning Minister, Zainab Ahmed disclosed that the other land borders will be reopened before Dec. 31st, 2020.

In October 2019, the Federal Government (FG) of Nigeria ordered the complete closure of Nigeria’s borders, placing a ban on both legitimate and illegitimate movement of goods in and out of the country. However, last month, November, the Minister of Finance hinted that the Federal Government was considering reopening the country’s land borders.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here